European Golf Star Suzann Pettersen’s Golf Gaffe
Suzann Pettersen is the second best women’s golfer player in the world, and she has maintained this position for a very long time. Although she was born in Norway, she plays mostly in U.S.A tournaments. Recently she received attention from the public in Europe for her gaffe that happened in a recent tournament.
Suzann made a move that is not easily accepted in the world of golf. Some say that she did not care about the rules of the game, nor the morals that were involved. She just thought about winning against her opponent, Allison Lee.
Allison made an innocent mistake in anticipation of having her putt conceded. She scooped up her ball which was within 21 inches of the hole. In the minutes that followed, Suzann refused to concede the putt. Even though this is not clearly against the rules, it made the entire world change their opinion about Suzann. Is she so eager to win, that she does not care about fair play?
Allison started crying, and soon was surrounded by her teammates. Suzann did not make any clear statement at the time, as everyone was tense waiting to see the result.
The incident exploded in the media. She was criticized by every sports newspaper in Europe, she appeared on TV, and when asked to talk about this, everyone was waiting for her apology. Naturally, she realized that what she did was a mistake so she posted a long, heartwarming text on her personal Instagram account, where she talks about how important golf is in her life, and how sorry she is for what it happened.
At the same time, she stated that she had a chat with Allison before leaving Germany, and she personally apologized to her and her fans. Hopefully, everything will be forgiven.